What is EAC Integration?

EAC Integration is a development strategy for the East Africa Community member countries to have a prosperous, competitive, secure, and politically united East Africa, an important aspect of this is trade liberalization is to achieve economic growth and to reduce poverty in the member countries.

EAC is formed up by five countries, which are Tanzania, Kenya, Uganda, Rwanda and Burundi.

The mission of the EAC, as an economic and political entity, stems from the desire by the governments of the EAC countries to improve the standard of living of the people of East Africa through increased competitiveness, value-added production, trade and investment. The desire by governments is to pool existing and potential resources for sustainable common development needs.